“I Saw God When….”

Standard

Greetings from Lira!

We are on a medical mission stop here at the Lira Hospital, on our way back from Gulu,  and then travel the rest of the day back to Mbale. God truly moved in Gulu…pictures and updates to come…but in the meantime, I asked the team to answer this question with a picture and some thoughts….Read and enjoy!”

“I Saw God When…..”

Caroline….”I saw God in the laugh of this child. “We are unknown yet well known; dying yet, behold, we live; sorrowful, yet always rejoicing; poor, yet making many rich; Having nothing, yet possessing everything.”

Anne….”I saw God in this glorious African morning sunlight! It placed on my heart, that His SON has brought His magnificent LIGHT here, to Uganda, to bring the beautiful African people His Hope in an otherwise dark and despairing place. I praise HIM with my whole heart for His LIGHT and I thank Him for bringing me here to share His hope with my brothers and sisters in Gulu.”


Payton….”I saw God while reading Romans 1 with my new school friends.  They were so hungry to hear the Word and overjoyed with each word.  I have never seen children so concentrated on every word.  I finally understand why Christ calls us in Mark 10 to come to Him like little children.  They are so precious and willing to hear truth.”


Ashley….”I saw God in the church field in the midst of 200 children for VBS. I had planned on 12-15 children, based on our need for a VBS in Mbarara last year. Who would have guessed that the church had a school right next to it? I prayed that morning for God to use us in a big way. And He answered!! The school teachers brought all of their children outside to participate with us. I really saw how 2 fish and 5 loaves worked that day….I NEVER RAN OUT OF SUPPLIES!! Every child had something to do. My favorite moment was watching the children sing and do the motions to ‘Jesus Loves Me’.”

Michelle….”I saw God when I heard the women in Gulu singing praise to our God.  It just amazed me that these women – some who traveled for unimaginable distance to the outreach – could be so joyful in the midst of heartache.  They truly taught me what it means to “pray continually and give thanks in all things”.

Staci…. “I saw God when I met Mary and Joy the first day in Gulu.  The language barrier makes things a little harder, but we still have a lot of fun together.  Mary (pictured above) has hydrocephalus and spina bifida, but she is still such a happy little girl.  God has blessed her with a grandma and a very protective cousin, Joy.  Her little smile and laugh always made my day much better.”

Sarah….”I saw God when I arrived at Miriam’s school.  All of the children were filled with so much happiness.  We became a part of it just by being in their presence.  This little boy, Anthony, has spina bifida, his legs are not properly aligned.  Yet, it did not stop him from walking with his wooden crutches and playing with the other children.  He had the sweetest smile, backed by happiness.  The amount of JOY he had touched my heart.  The presence of these children could just light up your world.  I believe God shines in his heart.  Mamma Miriam has opened up her heart and her home.  She gives these children the love that they desire.  I saw God when I witnessed how much love Miriam has for others, especially these children.  She has given them a future and a love for Christ.  I saw God in Uganda this day….with His love.”

Lauren….”I see God in holding this child from Miriam’s school.  These children are sick and their culture has made them outcasts.  Miriam and these children are teaching me to love deeply (like God) and to care for those around me.  Time seems to move slower in Africa.  People take time to speak to you and show you that they care.  This is why miracles happen in Africa.  Because they take time to be with God instead of rushing to the next activity.”


Shannon….”I saw God in this service. I was so overwhelmed at the altar call that I had to pause because I was so choked up. The entire sanctuary came down to the altar and raised their hands in surrender to the Lord to carry their cross. They made a commitment to God to allow Him to use the story of their child and the struggles they face to minister to other mommas and daddys, to CARRY THEIR CROSS….for this is where they found Jesus. In this moment, my call to Uganda and hearing the Lord say, “Go to Gulu” came to fruition. I could have stayed in this moment forever. Praise the holy living God. My life belongs to Him.”

“And I am convinced that nothing can ever separate us from God’s love. Neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither our fears for today nor our worries about tomorrow – not even the powers of hell can separate us from God’s love. No power in the sky above or in the earth below – indeed, nothing in all creation will ever be able to separate us from the love of god that is revealed in Christ Jesus our Lord.” Romans 8:38-39

3 responses »

  1. Thanks for sharing these updates with us and sharing the love of Christ with those you encounter. Anne, Payton – love you two! Give each other a hug for me. See you soon!

  2. Anne & Payton:
    I love you guys so much. I praise God for his direction in your life there and the many magnified moments for you and the people you are sharing the love of christ with. I pray that he continues to use you in a mighty way. My spirit is overwhelmed with Joy, love, and peace for you. See you soon!

  3. Dear Shannon and team. I pray for you daily. I find my mind drifting to Uganda all the time. While I’m at work, or home……staying up half the night as Meagan would say. I pray that God’s amazing light will fill the hearts of momma’s. Last Sunday morning I asked the men in my small group this question “Do you give hope by your very presence?” The very presence of all of you through the power of Christ with in you is giving hope to that last and least….. by your very presence!

    love

    Craig

Leave a Reply

