“A Prayer for My Team…”

Standard

“Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you saying,

“This is the way; walk in it.” Isaiah 30:21


This is my very favorite GO Team Uganda 2011 picture. I’ll tell you why in a moment…

I don’t believe in coincidence at all. You can argue with me if you would like, but I’m firm in this belief. I won’t change my stand.

In January of this year, CURE International advertised a short term mission trip to Uganda and called it “GO Team Uganda 2011”. GO means Global Outreach. It was an invitation and application process to choose a team to bring healing to a nation.

It was an invitation to experience God.

By February, the team was selected. Now that I have met and journeyed with this team, I marvel at how God knit our talents, abilities, strengths and weaknesses together. Our weaknesses would lean upon another’s strengths. We all became a great balance for each other.

It wasn’t coincidence that we were chosen to go.

It was divine appointment.

I pray that I savored each moment with these young women, for I know that all of us can never repeat these moments together. I never want to forget how God used each and every one of us. 

And now we will all take different paths…

It wasn’t my plan to write a post today. But it was His. He told me to write…

“A Prayer for My Team”

“Oh Father, I thank you for the opportunity and the appointment to go to Uganda with these beautiful women. I thank you that you moved upon them to “go” and they obeyed. I thank you that you provided for them to go. And I thank you that you have prompted me to pray for them today. Lord, fill them this moment with Your delight in them. Let them know Your amazing love that You have for them. Carve the memories of Ugandan faces upon their hearts. Forever change each and every one of them. Bless their paths that you lay before them. Lord, give them the courage to step upon each new step that You light up. Give them visions to see things like you do. I pray that they continue to say, “Here I am Lord, send me!”   Lord, release the forerunner spirit upon our lives.  Thank You for crossing my path with theirs and giving me moments with them. Love on them today, I pray. In the mighty name of Jesus, Amen.”

So, why do I love this picture? Its because it captures who we are. For those that know us best, you can tell who is who by our outline. Each woman’s placement shows exactly who she is and her heart. I don’t need to describe everyone, for the loved one’s can see it too.

I think this picture is prophetic. Its as if you can see the paths we are taking….

Even Meagan who took the picture and is not in it….its her heart to serve and capture things the way God sees them. She doesn’t want to be seen, she desires for His glory to be seen.  Its as if she sees through His eyes.

I looked at myself and realized my position…I’m in front.

Not coincidence at all…

I’ve been asked to lead a team back next year.

And for that, I am humbled….

“Show me your ways, O Lord,
teach me your paths;
guide me in your truth and teach me,
for you are God my Savior,
and my hope is in you all day long.”
Psalm 25:4,5

4 responses »

  1. Thank you so much Shannon! I miss you dearly and am so encouraged by your willingness to simply listen to the Lord and do what He says. I love you and am praying for you as you prepare to lead next year. I hope to catch up with you soon!

  2. Thanks so much Momma 🙂 I’m praying for you all everyday, that God would continue to reveal his heart to us more and more! Miss you all so much!

Leave a Reply

